top of page

Bird expenses adding up? Here's where I get my bird food and toys

[Disclaimer: I was NOT paid by any of these stores while writing this post: I am sharing what I have gathered from my own research and I am in no way getting any compensation for my advice. Thank you!]

A parrot's diet goes beyond bird seeds. Much like people, parrots also need a well-balanced diet in order to live a long and healthy life. Unfortunately, high-end bird foods are hard to come by and can be really expensive.

The expenses continue pile on when you need to buy treats and toys to stimulate your bird's mind. Toys are not only vital for a parrot's mental and physical health, but it gives them something to do while you're out. Birds love chewing so you might find yourself buying multiple toys depending on what type of bird you have.

You might be overwhelmed at how much you spend on your birds. If you're worried about going over budget or you want to save money, there are tons of websites that sell bird food, treats and toys for a cheaper price than retail stores charge.

For example, a bag of Zupreem Fruit Blend (for medium-sized birds) at PetSmart costs about $14 retail, $11 online (not including shipping expenses). On Amazon, you can buy a bag between $11-$14 with Prime shipping, which is a true lifesaver if you're running low on pellets.

Price-wise, the cheapest place to buy Zupreem pellets is on the Drs. Foster and Smith website. You can buy a bag for $8.99 or sign up for auto-delivery for $7.49 (I've never tried their auto-delivery service).

Here's the only catch: Drs. Foster and Smith charges shipping unless you complete their minimum purchase requirement. If you can wait 5-7 business days for your pellets to ship, buy some toys and other treats to go with your order to qualify for free shipping.

Drs. Foster and Smith's minimum purchase for free shipping is usually $29. But this week, their purchase minimum to $19. If you were to buy two bags of Zupreem pellets and buy a bag of millet for $3.39, your total will be $21.37. If you need pellets, treats AND a toy, you can buy Zupreem pellets, a tub of NutriBerries and a shredding toy for a total of $20.37 (with free shipping).

(Note that I am basing my purchases on what my cockatiels need, so every bird owner will probably buy something different).

If you are running low on pellets and you don't have time to wait 5-7 business days OR have time to drive to a pet store, Amazon is your most economical choice. Occasionally, the price for pellets with inflate or deflate depending on the day.

I like using Amazon Prime because sometimes, time IS money. I wouldn't mind paying an extra few dollars in order for me to get my food within two days flat. Some people might not have Prime membership, which is fine. Prime membership really helped me, especially when I've been running low on pellets and the stores around me didn't carry Zupreem.

If you're looking into making big perchase (GET IT? PERCH-ASE? Like purchase? Okay I'll stop), I'd suggest Chewy.com. They offer free 1-2 day shipping on orders over $49. Their prices are comparable to Drs. Foster and Smith, but each have their own tradeoffs.

If you want a lower minimum for shipping, I'd suggest Drs. Foster and Smith. But if you're making a big order and you need you food and toys ASAP, then stick with Chewy.

In short, each website I've listed has better prices and selection than most pet stores. If you can wait 5-7 business days, then Drs. Foster and Smith is your best choice. If you're Amazon Prime-savvy, then make the most of your membership. If you have multiple birds and a big shopping list, Chewy is your best value with low prices and quick shipping.

[Photo credit: Mariana Chrisney]

bottom of page